copertina Le Dolomiti DSC
copertina Le Dolomiti DSC


The “pale mountains” - a world-famous mountain range and Natural World Heritage site

The Dolomites are a mountain range which includes different Italian provinces: Trentino, South Tyrol, Friuli-Venezia Giulia and Belluno.

The name "Dolomites" derives from the name of the French geologist Déodat de Dolomieu, who described the Dolomite rocks. "Pale mountains" (monti pallidi) – this is how the Dolomites are called due to their rock colour.

The Dolomites can be subdivided into numerous groups. In the Trentino, there are for example the Brenta Dolomites, the Lagorai, parts of the Sella Group and the Marmolada.

A phenomenon, for which the Dolomites are known worldwide is the alpine glow, also called "enrosadira", which begins at dusk, when the red gleams of the setting sun are reflected. The alpine glow transforms the Dolomites into a fairytale-like landscape! "The most beautiful architecture in the world", that is how the French artist Le Corbusier called the Dolomites, which according to legend were inhabited by dwarfs and fairies.

Of course the Dolomite mountains attracted - and still do - alpinists from all over the world. Above all German and British alpinists were pioneers in the Dolomites. When they scaled these mountains for the first time, they might have experienced incredible adventures...

Highest peak: Marmolada (3,343 m)
First ascent: Paul Grohmann, 1864
Major peaks: Gruppo Sella, Gruppo Sasso Lungo, Puez-Odle, Catinaccio-Latemar, Civetta, Cristallo, Lagorai, Vette Feltrine, Dolomiti di Braies, Dolomiti di Sesto, Tofana etc.

Suggest an edit/correction

Our editorial staff is always committed to ensuring the highest quality and accuracy of the information we publish. If you have suggestions to improve this page you can send them to us using the form below. Thank you in advance!

  1. Cimon della Pala Croda della Pala Cima Corona

    Pale di San Martino

    The most southern mountain chain of the Dolomites.
  2. Val di Fassa Passo Pordoi da Canazei parcheggio

    Sella Group

    A famous alpenstock in the centre of the famous Sellaronda.
  3. Marmolada


    The Marmolada - the Queen of the Dolomites.

Suggested accommodations

Tips and more infos